Blog /  Band News

Rockband ACIDMAN has announced they are going to release a new single. EVERLIGHT will be released on the 16th of April and consists of 5 tracks. Besides the titletrack EVERLIGHT, the band is also re-recording their tracks ±0 and I stand free in their successfull second line-idea, making a bossa nova-like track of the original. The last two tracks are the original recordings of both ±0 and I stand free.
January 20, 2014 19:50PST
They are a busy bunch, they five guys from post-rock band downy. Being away for 9 years since their hiatus in 2004, the band released their fifth album last November, and now already announced they are releasing a new album in March this year. Don't get your hopes up to fast, because instead of a complete new album, the band announced a remix album of their last release featuring other artists. Participating artists include 石橋英子 (Eiko Ishibashi), Ametsub, mergrim, DJ ATSUKI, FRAGMENT, やけのはら (YAKE NO HARA), Olive Oil, Geskia! and SUNNOVA. Do you feel like you also need to be on that list, you can fill in the form and send your remix over on their official homepage.

(無題)リミックスアルバム (mudai, remix album) as the album is currently titled, will be released on the 19th of March.
January 15, 2014 19:34PST
下山 (GEZAN)-vocalist マヒトゥ・ザ・ピーポー (Mahi to the People) has announced that he will release his second solo-album. POPCOCOON will contain 9 songs and will be released on March 5. It is a busy period for Mahi to the People and his band. Recently the band announced that they will release a new album and a collaboration album of their tour with tenniscoats. A video for his song PUPA was also revealed today.
January 14, 2014 18:40PST
Indie post-rock band about tess have announced they are going to release a new album on February 22nd. Shining will be the band's follow up to their third album, released in November 2010, Song of the Birdand contains 10 brand new tracks. about tess also sampled the first track of the upcoming album, shine.


01. shine
02. prism
03. atom
04. void
05. seer
06. flame
07. prayer
08. mirror
09. dazzling
10. eyes
January 6, 2014 22:05PST
Indie jazz-pop trio lamp has announced they are going to release a new album next month. It will be the follow-up to their 2011-album 東京ユウトピア通信 (Tokyo Utopia Tsushin). ゆめ (Dreams) will be their 7th album and will be released on February and contains 10 brand new tracks. Main composer and guitarist of the band  染谷太陽 (Taiyou Someya) has explained that this 3 years of silence was needed to reinvent themselves and get back to their roots. It was also the reason they left their label MONTE BLEU on which they released all of their previous releases.


01. シンフォニー
02. A都市の秋
03. ため息の行方
04. 6号室
05. 空はグレー
06. 渚アラモード
07. 残像のスケッチ
08. 二人のいた風景
09. 静かに朝は
10. さち子
January 5, 2014 15:44PST
A few days after the announcement of their collaboration album with tenniscoats, alternative rockband 下山 (GEZAN) has released further details about their upcoming album 凸-DECO, which will be released on February 5. The album will feature 11 tracks, of which 10 are announced, and the eleventh will be a bonus-track which doesn't have a name yet. The third track, 八月のメフィストと, will be a split-track together with 踊ってばかりの国 (Odotte Bakari no Kuni)凸-DECO- will be their first release after they changed their location from Osaka to Tokyo in the autumn of 2012. The band also released a new PV to go along with their announcement, and features the track 瘡蓋と爆撃機 (Kasabuta to bakugeki)


01. 瘡蓋と爆撃機
02. 共振
03. 八月のメフィストと
04. MAN 麻疹
05. ストリップチーズ
06. ぴかりのヒビ
07. あぶら無知の涙
08. 癲癇する大脳たち
09. となりのベジタリアン
10. 蒼白のとおく
and one bonustrack
January 3, 2014 23:54PST
モーモールルギャバン (MOW MOW LULU GYABAN) has announced they are going to go on an indefinite hiatus when their current tour ends in May 2014. This however only includes their live-shows. The band itself wants to take some time off and reinvent themselves for some time before going back on stage and release new material. A more in-depth video can be seen on their official homepage.
January 3, 2014 01:13PST
sukekiyo unveiled themselves as the opening act for SUGIZO's live tour THRIVE TO REALIZE held at Shibuya AX on December 29th. The band turns out to be the solo project of DIR EN GREY's vocalist, Kyo (京) alongside four other well known musicians; Takumi (匠, ex-RENTRER EN SOI) on guitar and piano, UTA (ex-9GOATS BLACK OUT) on guitar and violin, YUCHI (kannivalism) on bass, and Mika (未架, ex-RENTRER EN SOI) on drums.

During their performance they played three songs, all of which were contained within an EP for sale at the concert titled the daemon's cutlery for 1800 yen. Their official website reveals that they also have a PV for a song titled aftermath that is to be released on January 1, 2014 on iTunes Japan.

By far not the best quality, but heres a sample off the EP:
December 31, 2013 09:30PST
Quite a strange combination but the hard, over the top sound of psychedelic rockband 下山 (GEZAN) and the sweet, low-voiced sound of avant-garde folkband Tenniscoats are releasing an album together. The bands announced their collaboration album ライブ in ザバン (Live in Banjaran) and will be released to a limited number of stores and will be on sale during their liveshows the following months. The album is the prodigy of their coupling tour いっしょツアー (tour together) in March this year and features a compilation of two of their shows. Besides these live recordings, the disc contains a few live-videos from this tour. A first one has been released and features ザバンザバン (Zabanzaban).

December 31, 2013 03:51EST
Hello Sleepwalkers have released more details about their upcoming single and album released in January and February 2014. The single 午夜の待ち合わせ (Uma Yoru no Machiawase) will be opening track for the anime ノラガミ (noragami). It will be released on 29 January and will contain only the title track.

Masked Monkey Awakening will be the title of the album released three weeks later. It will consist of 10 tracks, and their previous single will be the second track on the album. Besides these chunks of information they also released the jackets of the releases.
Masked Monkey Awakening


01. 猿は木から何処へ落ちる
02. 午夜の待ち合わせ
03. Bloody Mary
04. Comic Relief
05. 砂漠
06. 天地創造
07. 23
08. 越境
09. Countdown
10. 円盤飛来
December 31, 2013 02:46EST

Rockband androp has announced that they are going to release their third major album as follow-up to their maxi-single Missing that got released last month. Period, as the album is called, will be released on March 5, 2014 and will contain 14  songs, and the band has already announced 6 of the songtitles. Ofcourse there will be a song called period, and Missing will also be included. The four others are Woman, Voiceルームメイト (roommate), and Singer.

The band was kind enough to accompany this joyful news with a sample of Singer, which will be the openingstrack of the period. You can listen to the sample on their official homepage.

December 30, 2013 23:15EST