• 1994 - Present
  • |
  • Active / Major [Label - Toy's Factory]

User rating:

  • vote 1
  • vote 2
  • vote 3
  • vote 4
  • vote 5

BUMP OF CHICKEN is a rock group from Sakura, Chiba, Japan. Since their inception in 1994, they have released fourteen singles and five albums. They are a popular group in Japan; every release since their third single, "天体観測 (Tentai Kansoku)," has charted in the top ten on the Oricon Weekly Charts. Their music has been used in various video games and as theme songs for movies and television shows in Japan.



twitter32.png  facebook32.png  tumblr32.png  google32.png 



The members first met in kingergarten and were classmates throughout their primary and secondary education. BUMP OF CHICKEN's first performance was in 1994, during their ninth grade cultural festival, playing a cover of The Beatles' version of "Twist and Shout". In 1996 their song "Danny" won an award on 96TFM.

In 1999, BUMP OF CHICKEN released their first album Flame Vein on High Line Records. Later that year, they released their first single Lamp. In 2000, they released The Living Dead, their final release through High Line Records. In this same year they held their first live tour, ツアーポキール (Tsuaa Pokiiru), during March and April.

Later in 2000, the group switched to Toy's Factory, releasing their first single on the label Diamond in September. BUMP OF CHICKEN's first big success occurred when their single, 2001 (ハルジオン (Harujion). They released their first album on Toy's Factory, Jupiter, in February 2002 and was their first number one on the Oricon Weekly Charts. In the summer of 2002, their music was featured on the Japanese TV drama 観測 (Tentai Kansoku), giving them more exposure.

In 2011, BUMP OF CHICKEN announced that they wrote the song 友達の唄 (Tomodachi no Uta) was released as the single on February 23, 2011. They also released two singles, Smile on May 11, 2011 and Zero on October 19, 2011. Zero was used as the theme song for video game by Square Enix, Final Fantasy Type-0.

On March 6, 2013, BUMP OF CHICKEN released their first live video and album Bump of Chicken Gold Glider Tour 2012, recorded live at the Yoyogi National Gymnasium, Tokyo, Japan on July 3, 2012.

Related Bands